Whole Food Plant Based Diet References

I know I’m supposed to be talking about hiking…but I think your health is an important component to being able to keep doing whatever you love well into later life. If you want to skip my comments and go directly to the references, just scroll down to the bottom of the page.

My journey into plant based eating started with the movie Forks Over Knives.  For anyone interested in exploring the idea, I’d start there and then branch out.  Lots of people have been helped, lives have been changed, and saved. I’m not saying it’s going to help everyone or fix everything but you never know if it will help unless you try. At first, I considered it an experiment to see if better nutrition would really make a difference.  Now it is a lifestyle. I’m not perfect but I’m sure in a lot better place than when I started.

We all know we need to eat more simply prepared fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. The problem is we are surrounded by lots of processed foods that are okay in small doses but when the majority of your eating consists of pizza, ice cream, and potato chips/french fries, that’s when you find yourself in trouble.  I still struggle with chips!  It’s definitely hard in America to know what to eat or to resist all the temptations that surround us.

Sometimes you just have to reach out and do something different to help yourself. Even if you decide this lifestyle is too extreme for you, please don’t stop trying to eat healthier and incorporate lots of whole foods in your diet.  Dr. Michael Greger has come up with a list he calls the Daily Dozen, foods he likes to incorporate into his diet every day.  I think that is a helpful guide. You can get it as a free app for your phone. It’s all about Kaizen! Small steps.

I decided to post some references here to web sites I like on the topic of whole foods. I’ve also added some books and movies I like.   It’s also a little selfish since I don’t want to have to write things down multiple times when telling people where to look.  More to come as I run across them. If you have other references you’d like me to add, please feel free to contact me through the site.

Leave a Reply

