Nine Times Forest

I guess I’ve been pretty quiet for awhile. This is not to say I have not been hiking because I have but mainly in the exploratory mode. One of the places I’ve been exploring, with others, is Nine Times Forest off Highway 11 in Pickens County, South Carolina. Nine Times Forest was saved from becoming a housing development by the Naturaland Trust and Upstate Forever. Here’s a link if you are interested in checking it out:

https://upstateforever.org/portfolios/nine-times-forest-public/

Fortunately for me there are people who are willing to wander with me and sometimes we find what I would describe as good things.  I’m still in the process of mapping out the “trails” we’ve hiked although most of them are old forest roads or actual dirt roads built for the housing developing.  Lots of trees were cut down and the first time you see it it makes you sad. Still I’m glad they were able to save what is left and hope that some day the trees will grow in those spaces again.

We have hiked around and on top of Big Rock Mountain which has some very good views. We have also hiked up Pink Mountain and found one view looking back down the trail. I think there is probably another view but I have yet to find it but have not given up looking for it yet.

Still lots to explore here and am hoping to get back soon.

 

Leave a Reply

