Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe (Camp or Backpack)

20160618_132656

I was writing this recipe up for a friend to make at home and thought some of you might appreciate it so here’s the recipe I use for Thai Peanut Sauce. I’d use this as a starting point and doctor it up like you want to. It might be possible to cook this on a backpacking or camping trip but you would have to carry the wet ingredients separately. Maybe you could just mix them up in a little plastic bottle and then add them when you are ready to cook. I could also see you just mixing the dry ingredients together and carrying them in a plastic baggie or something like it.

Dry:
6 Tbs PB Fit
1 Tbs date sugar
1 tsp ginger
2 Tbs corn starch

Wet:
8 oz water
1 1/2 Tbs soy sauce
1/2-1 tsp Sriracha sauce

Optional: I’m thinking of adding some chopped up peanuts as I think it would give it some texture. You might want to add a little more water (I’m thinking of going to 12 oz) as it tends to thicken a lot.

Mix and cook over low heat. Whisk until thickens about 5 minutes or less.

Good over warm whole wheat pasta. Just stir it in. Or maybe couscous or some other quick cooking noodle could work on a backpack trip. You might have leftover. I made a sandwich with mine!

Enjoy.

About Caroline Trinkley

I once had a friend who asked me what my passion was. I didn't have one. He said that I needed to find it. I can honestly say I've found my passion - I love to hike and explore the woods. Sometimes I think I know the woods better than the town I live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

