Milliken Arboretum, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Mr. T and I visited the Milliken Arboretum last Sunday and had a nice walk around.  Took some photos which I’m sharing below. DSC04465_tonemappedDSC04478_tonemapped

Here’s a link to their web site.

http://www.milliken.com/en-us/ourcompany/visitors/Pages/milliken-arboretum.aspx

I think it would be very pretty to visit here in the spring and summer. Hope to get back there soon to take some more photos. DSC04458_tonemapped

They have several small ponds on the property and lots of open fields.DSC04494_tonemapped

Their web site says they have 15 decorative fountains. So I missed more than a few!!  DSC04483_tonemappedDSC04464_tonemapped

They also have an app you can download for a self-guided tour. I think I’m going to have to download that the next time we go to find all the fountains! Check out what I think is a Blue Heron in the photo below.

DSC04470_tonemappedDSC04477_tonemapped

Obviously the water features attract the birds.

You can click on the photos to open them to get a better look.

I spotted several sculptures. The photo on the left was taken at their Customer Center. The sculpture on the right is called “Synergy.”DSC04503_tonemappedDSC04481_tonemappedDSC04501

They also have an exercise course. DSC04490_tonemappedI’m not sure if it’s just for their employees but it follows a dirt road on the north part of their property. It isn’t shown on the map. See link below.DSC04485_tonemapped We didn’t walk the whole thing as it was a little cold out but it would add some mileage if you wanted to get a little workout.

Map link:

http://www.milliken.com/en-us/ourcompany/visitors/Documents/RMC-Map.pdf

I believe the stone circle in the photo on the right is part of the memorial to Roger Milliken.  Read about him at the link below. Well worth the read.

http://roger.milliken.com/Pages/biography.aspx

DSC04460  DSC04459_tonemapped

Free and open to the public.

About Caroline Trinkley

I once had a friend who asked me what my passion was. I didn't have one. He said that I needed to find it. I can honestly say I've found my passion - I love to hike and explore the woods. Sometimes I think I know the woods better than the town I live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

