My Thoughts on Exploratory Hiking

There is a proper way to lead a group hike which involves pre-hiking your hike and knowing exactly which way you are going to go.  Lots of hiking groups follow that rule and it is a good rule.  Unfortunately I’m one of those people who can’t even follow a recipe without changing it. I am also a person who does not like to walk so hiking has to be like sightseeing for me and I am always looking for a change of scenery. New places are exciting and there is something of the explorer in me that wants to find out what is new right around the corner.

I work in Greenville, South Carolina, a city that is always bent on self-improvement.  This means that every time I go out for a walk there is something new popping up:  a fountain, a mural, a sculpture, or a building!  It is a small city that continues to amaze, not with a desire to be bigger, but a desire to be better!  And it has a very photogenic downtown to be sure. How many cities have a beautiful waterfall in the heart of downtown?

When I first started hiking, it was baby steps and I always kept to what was well-known. But now I am seeking out the more obscure hikes and the less traveled hikes. Sometimes we do hike in places that I consider like Grand Central Station. Take the Great Smoky Mountains National Park hikes we did last weekend: Alum Cave to Mt. LaConte or Charlies Bunion. These are both heavily traveled hikes. I loved the views and the trail but I longed for a little more solitude and a little more exploratory! Next time.

So I’m not sure if this is an apology and or self therapy. Perhaps a little of both.  But sometimes you just have to be who you are and learn to be content.  It’s like the quote I heard in a meeting yesterday:  You are enough.

Happy hiking!

About Caroline Trinkley

I once had a friend who asked me what my passion was. I didn't have one. He said that I needed to find it. I can honestly say I've found my passion - I love to hike and explore the woods. Sometimes I think I know the woods better than the town I live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

