Hospital Rock, Pretty Place, Rainbow Falls, Jones Gap, SC

Today we did a 9 mile loop hike in Jones Gap to the top of Pretty Place and back around to Rainbow Falls.

DSCN3610

View of Hospital Rock where Confederate deserters are believed to have hidden out during the Civil War…the trail gets very tough right after this point.

DSCN3615

We hiked in the snow at the top of the mountain that fell during the night…

DSCN3619

Pretty Place at YMCA Camp Greenville, a popular site for weddings…

DSCN3621

Jones Gap seen from the trail above Rainbow Falls…

DSCN3624

Icicles hanging from rocks off the trail…

DSCN3628

Rock face? The Rainbow Falls Trail from Camp Greenville passes by several rock faces and is windy and steep. There are several ropes to assist hikers down the trail.

DSCN3629

One view of Rainbow Falls…it gets a little breezy and cold in this spot. Water also flows under the large rock on the left of this photo and the creek continues down the mountain via slides and small falls.

DSCN3640

A view of the bottom of Rainbow Falls…

DSCN3655

Our trip down the Rainbow Falls trail was done in the late afternoon light. Hikers’ reflections as seen on the rock facing the trail…

DSCN3658

Middle Saluda River as seen from the lower bridge…the light was already starting to change as we made our way back down the Jones Gap Trail towards the Ranger Station…

About Caroline Trinkley

I once had a friend who asked me what my passion was. I didn't have one. He said that I needed to find it. I can honestly say I've found my passion - I love to hike and explore the woods. Sometimes I think I know the woods better than the town I live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hospital Rock, Pretty Place, Rainbow Falls, Jones Gap, SC

  1. Rick says:

    Hey, saw your photo of Rainbow falls featured in travel today web page. Great picture.
    Rick

    • Thanks. Was that something recent? That picture was taken about a year ago but glad to know it’s still out there. Caroline

      • Rick says:

        I was searching for “Trinkley hiking blog” and the link to the travel today site popped up. Your photo was 2nd or third on the page. I did not check the date, just was impressed that you and your photo were there. Take care. See you on trail soon.

Leave a Reply

