Isaqueena

December, 2015

I always like hiking over at Isaqueena near Clemson because it is not far from Greenville, SC, has lots of options to hike, and isn’t crowded.  You do have to share the trail with bicyclists but again not crowded.  We hiked there last weekend and ended up near the dam.  The trails are pretty well marked and so as long as you have a map you should not get lost.  I also like hiking here in winter because of cooler temps and good winter views. Parking is good but keep in mind some roads are closed particularly the ones to the Isaqueena picnic areas (November 1 to March 15).

Here’s are some links to maps of the area:

http://upstatesorba.com/local-trails/

http://www.clemson.edu/cafls/cef/maps_of_trails.html

Happy hiking!

End.

We took a short hike to Isaqueena down by Clemson, SC on Saturday to go exploring.  This is part of the Clemson experimental forest.  We hiked about 6 miles on a variety of trails.

DSCN3183

It was in the 50s but we did run into a few icy puddles.

DSCN3184

The woods were quite bare of leaves and through the trees the blue sky shone through.

DSCN3186

Not much by way of greenery except the ferns.  These were pretty with the sun shining on the leaves.

DSCN3190

Lots of hiking possibilities so we are going to have to see if we can find a better map!

After posting this, I did find a link to better maps in the plural.  Here’s the link:

http://www.gcmbc.com/main.html

About Caroline Trinkley

I once had a friend who asked me what my passion was. I didn't have one. He said that I needed to find it. I can honestly say I've found my passion - I love to hike and explore the woods. Sometimes I think I know the woods better than the town I live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Isaqueena

Leave a Reply

